COVID UPDATE: Our team is dedicated to keeping our residents, team members, and potential buyers safe and healthy during this time. We have begun offering in-person tours again and are taking special safety precautions including limiting the number of people on tours to comply with social distancing, cleaning measures, and more. We invite you to come and take a tour to learn more about how we create a better life here in Rancho Sahuarita! Please reach out to our Welcome Center team with questions and for more information about in-person tours of our community. Click HERE to request a tour today!

(March 30, 2015 – Article Sourced from TucsonNewsNow)

TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) – The Arizona Educational Foundation announced its list of A+ School of Excellence awardees, with the honors going to 26 schools, six Southern Arizona schools made the list, two are in Tucson.

The following schools have received the honor for the 2014-2015 academic year:

-Catalina Foothills High School, Tucson (Catalina Foothills Unified School District), Dr. Angela Chomokos, Principal

-J. Robert Hendricks Elementary School, Tucson (Flowing Wells Unified School District), Peter Wells, Principal

-Anza Trail School, Sahuarita (Sahuarita Unified School District), John Fanning, Principal

-Sahuarita Primary School, Sahuarita (Sahuarita Unified School District), Tina Anderson, Principal

-Coatimundi Middle School, Rio Rico (Santa Cruz Valley Unified School District), Cesar Miranda, Principal

-San Cayetano Elementary School, Rio Rico (Santa Cruz Valley Unified School District), Berenice Rodriguez, Principal

The AEF A+ School of Excellence honors public schools pre-K through 12th grade that strive to ‘create a comprehensive framework of successful programs and practices that other schools throughout the state and nation might adopt’, according to a AEF release.

“The A+ School of Excellence program celebrates outstanding schools throughout Arizona and calls attention to the positive stories and successes occurring in public schools,” said AEF Executive Director, Bobbie O’Boyle, in a recent release. “We applaud these schools for doing whatever it takes to meet their students’ needs and achieving overall success despite some of the challenges that face the education community statewide.”

The remaining winners are:

Barry Goldwater High School, Phoenix (Deer Valley Unified School District), Dr. Michael Andersen, Principal
Booker T. Washington Elementary, Mesa (Mesa Unified School District), Michele Grimaldi, Principal
Cactus Shadows High School, Cave Creek (Cave Creek School District), Steve Bebee, Principal
Centennial Elementary School, Gilbert (Higley Unified School District), Debbie Ybarra, Principal
Chandler Traditional Academy – Humphrey Campus, Chandler (Chandler Unified School District), Luke Hickey, Principal
Desert Sage Elementary School, Phoenix (Deer Valley Unified School District), Lisa Crain, Principal
Diamond Canyon School, Anthem (Deer Valley Unified School District), Tara LeCount, Principal
Haley Nicole Knudsen Elementary School, Chandler (Chandler Unified School District), Pamela Nephew, Principal
Highland Arts Elementary School, Mesa (Mesa Unified School District), Suzi Rollins, Principal
Highland Park Elementary, Gilbert (Gilbert Unified School District), Jason Martin, Principal
John Philip Sousa Elementary School, Mesa (Mesa Unified School District), Elizabeth Mullavey, Principal
Kyrene de la Mariposa Elementary, Tempe (Kyrene Elementary School District), Spencer Fallgatter, Principal
Kyrene del Pueblo Middle School, Chandler (Kyrene Elementary School District), Sheryl Houston, Principal
Kyrene Traditional Academy – Sureno Campus, Chandler (Kyrene Elementary School District), Dr. Marianne Lescher, Principal
Mary C. O’Brien Elementary School, Casa Grande (Mary C. O’Brien Accommodation District), Lisa Raymond, Principal
Pinnacle High School, Phoenix (Paradise Valley Unified School District), Dr. Troy Bales, Principal
Ramon S. Mendoza Elementary School, Mesa (Mesa Unified School District), Dr. Kent Ashton, Principal
Robson Elementary School, Mesa (Mesa Unified School District), Lou Perdoni, Principal
Sonoran Heights Elementary School, Surprise (Dysart Unified School District), Therese Tipton, Principal
Sonoran Sky Elementary School, Scottsdale (Paradise Valley Unified School District), Robert Dawson, Principal

Applicant schools are evaluated in the areas of student focus and support, school culture, active teaching and learning, curriculum, leadership, community and parent involvement and assessment data.

Recognition through the A+ School of Excellence program can help increase confidence in Arizona’s public schools and create greater parent and community involvement. Schools receive $500 and a banner designating them as an A+ School of Excellence winner. All staff and faculty at the award-winning schools will be eligible for partial scholarships from Argosy University Phoenix. The award is valid for three and a half years.

A second round of winning schools will be announced in late April.

For additional information on the A+ School of Excellence program or to learn more about and support the Arizona Educational Foundation, visit ”

Check out the full article here.


Back to News